

MEMORANDUM

To: Members of Committee of the Whole

From: Bruce Macgregor

Chief Administrative Officer

Date: June 1, 2020

Re: Study on the Potential Creation of a Regional Fire Service not supported

by all Local Municipalities

At its <u>February 27, 2020 meeting</u>, Regional Council requested a resolution from all local municipal councils indicating whether they support proceeding with a study on the potential creation of a Regional Fire Service by May 29, 2020.

York Region currently has eight fire departments — East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Richmond Hill, Vaughan, Whitchurch-Stouffville and Central York which serves Aurora and Newmarket. Local municipal resolutions received by the Regional Clerk from the local municipalities (Attachment 1) are summarized in Table 1.

Table 1
Summary of Local Municipal Responses for Study on the potential for Regional Fire Service

Local Municipality	Supports	Does Not Support
Aurora	Χ	
East Gwillimbury		X
Georgina	X	
King		X
Markham		X
Newmarket	X	
Richmond Hill	X	
Vaughan		X
Whitchurch-Stouffville	Χ	

Local municipalities who are in support of a fire service delivery study have also expressed interest in working with their local municipal colleagues to determine the efficiencies of further consolidation and/or cooperation.

The creation of a Regional Fire Service would require, pursuant to the Municipal Act, 2001, support through a "triple majority" vote of Councils. That would require: (i) a supportive vote of Regional Council **and** (ii) a majority of local Councils voting in favour **and** (iii) the majority of local Councils voting in favour also representing a majority of the electorate Region-wide.

Given that a study on the potential creation of a Regional Fire Service is not supported by a sufficient number of local municipalities to represent a "triple majority", proceeding with a study at this time does not appear warranted.

Bruce Macgregor
Chief Administrative Officer

eDocs # 10796177

Attachment - 1