REGIONAL COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING SEPTEMBER 16, 2021

FORM LETTER

Subject: Item F.1 - Alternate 2051 Forecast and Land Needs Assessment Scenarios in Response to Consultation

Submitted by 197 Individuals

The following form letter, some with variations, was received by the Regional Clerk from the individuals listed at the bottom of this document.

I am asking you to vote "no" on Items F.1 (1) and (2) at the September 16th York Region Council Special Meeting. Council must reject Settlement Area Boundary Expansion, and instead direct staff to prepare a growth concept which accommodates the next 30 years of York Region's new homes and workplaces within its existing Settlement Area Boundaries.

Expanding York Region's Settlement Area Boundary even further would be an unmitigated disaster for our natural heritage and our farmland, because it would commit us, for 30 years, to more than triple the rate at which we are bulldozing green space. While York Region used about 6,400 acres per year 2001 and 2019 the new plans would see the region burn through roughly 25,000 more acres by 2051. They'd pave some of the last non urbanized headwaters of the Rouge and Don, and push a huge volume of people & pavement into the Lake Simcoe watershed, which can't absorb more sewage or urban runoff. All the region's Environmental NGOs have told you there is no acceptable way to add sewage capacity there.

Squandering the next 30 years of new residents and jobs on more sprawl would abandon our climate change obligations and betray the vast majority of existing York Region residents, because that growth is needed to complete existing neighborhoods and free them of car dependency. When surveyed, 64% of York Region's residents said they'd "much prefer" to live in a neighborhood where they "didn't need to use a car to do [their'] shopping, recreation, entertainment, or commutes to work or school."

York Region must use the next 30 years to fix its 20th century planning mistakes, not to double down on them. Vote no to settlement area boundary expansion.

The form letter was submitted by the following individuals:

Allan Briesmaster	Christine Tansley	Nancy Hopkinson
Samantha Dunlop	Margaret Squires	Sigrid White
Marilyn Janes	Breanna Bigelli	Tai Pang Lui
Wolf Saxler	Charles Aldred	Vitor Vanti
Linda Similas	Brigitte Beck	Heather Sanham
Beverley Golden	Phil DiFonzo	Sumeet Tandon
Khalen Meredith	Cathy Summers	Leslie Schwartz
Jess House	Rolph Davis	Michael Thies
Ivanka Pribramska	Jim Sanders	Rose Rayfield
Lindsay Kochman	Elisha Anna	Samantha Malkin
Denise Morley	Sophie Katzenberg	Corie Bonnaffon
Phil Parsons	Natalia Koulakova	Sue Walters
Dante Sanchez	Mary Bromley	Danielle Williams
Shelley Bond	Pat Pollock	Mary Murphy
Paul Kohn	Colin Gibson	Eleanor Hubbard
Wendy Kenyon	Daniela Palma	Sheila Grandy
Greg Gardiner	Angela O'Neill	Linda Ewart
Candy Diver	Iain Scott	Wendy Butt
Sherry Draisey	Colleen Neller	Jill Worton
Leon Ganguly	Adam Socha	Simon Schmidt
Gavin Watt	Tracy Porter	Mr. or Ms. Duggan
Lorraine Valenzano	Janet Jeffrey	Norma McClinton
Cara Jackson	Jane Patterson	Janet Ball
Adam Saunders	Mohamedali and Nasim Fazal	Margaret Bergshoeff
Jane Patterson	Linda Kellock	C. Wiesen
Carissa Torchetti	Toni Carlin	Anna Huschka
Linn Kingston	Arleen Hammond	Rhoda Gonen
Mary Dennis	Liz Morin	Russ Coles
Lou-Anne Hooper	Chelsea Saari	Anabela Tamburro
Gilberto Bojaca	Helen Bertolini-Saari	Pegah Fallah
Mary Ann McCloskey	Dave Hamilton	Allan & Roy Rennie
Clare Magee	Krishna Sookrit	Delnaz Cingolani
Helen Stauffer	Carylin Hayhoe	Tashi Harrow
Peter Truman	Adrienne Dwyer	Alexandra Robertson
Joe Agg	John Halsall	Nancy Zalman
D.M. Pearson	Loren Marangone-Rossi	Suzanne Darwin
Sally Innanen	Susan Stevenson	C. Engerer
Carl Emmerson	Dorothy Zajac	Kelly Lance
Noah Howard	Susan Sheard/Nory Takata	Sandra Jackson
Jennifer Lam	Bogdan Hlevca	Valerie Panaroni
Kim Mcdougall	Anna Sousa	Paul Procenko
Anna Voisard	Sharon Smyth	Natalie Telfer
Frann Harris	Ofelia Lombardi	Jo Maier

Eugenia Gilchrist	Norma Quesnel	Paula Sheppard
Bill Foster	Gloria Boxen	Peter Vanker
Kaitlyn Read	Susan Reesor	Brian Shillum
Darryl Dioso	Noah Howard	Teresa Paz-Soldan
Pam Tamburro	Russell Morden	Lou Boswell
Heather Craigie	William Shore	Mary Gerrard
Lyndsey McCollam	lan Hilton	Jerry Dunn
Valerie Burke	Marilyn Jackman	Kimberly Seymour
Karen Kostin	Jessica Kaatz	Mary Muter
Christine Warner	Elaine Adam	Sarah Van Loon
Mary-Lynn Dillane	Greg Boyd	Nancy Clarke
Vic Wilensky	Krystyna O'Donoghue	Susan Beharriell
Marcus Weber	Susan Ell	Heather Morris
Loretta Puzzolanti	Andjela Tatarovic	Gillian Iszard
Pina Koop	Susan Sigrist	Hans Pape
Catharine Montgomery	Ricardo Zamarripa	Michael Waslyenky
James Brodie	Steven Sherman	Janice Berger
Ruth Staples	Anne Kaufmann	Dave Szollosy
Brian Bulman	Ashley Bell	Judith Dawson
Bill Willcocks	Katherine Smith	Kimberley So
Donna Jewell	Chris Bergauer-Free	Rossella Polera
Pamela Stout	Andrew Willi	Flora MacDonald
Cathy Wellesley	Helen Stauffer	