

The Regional Municipality of York Committee of the Whole Environmental Services September 5, 2024 FOR DECISION

# Report of the Commissioner of Public Works Source Water Protection Committee Appointment

### 1. Recommendations

- 1. Council approve nomination of Tom Bradley as municipal representative for York Region on the Credit Valley, Toronto Region and Central Lake Ontario Source Protection Committee.
- Council delegate authority to the Commissioner of Public Works to nominate York Region's municipal representatives on Credit Valley, Toronto Region and Central Lake Ontario and the South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Committees and include delegation of authority in the next update to the Region's Delegation Bylaw.
- The Regional Clerk forward this report to the Clerks of the local municipalities, Credit Valley Source Protection Authority, Lake Simcoe and Couchiching/Black River Source Protection Authority and Source Protection Programs Branch, Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks.

### 2. Purpose

This report seeks Council approval of nomination of Tom Bradley to the Credit Valley, Toronto Region and Central Lake Ontario (CTC) Source Protection Committee to represent the municipal group consisting of York Region, Towns of Aurora and Whitchurch-Stouffville, Township of King, and the Cities of Markham, Richmond Hill and Vaughan.

This report also seeks delegation of authority for future nominations of Regional representation on Source Protection Committees to the Commissioner of Public Works.

### 3. Background

# Source Protection Committee appointments required under the *Clean Water Act, 2006*

Since 2007, York Region has been member of two Source Protection Committees; Credit Valley, Toronto Region and Central Lake Ontario (CTC) and South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe, to administer the *Clean Water Act, 2006* requirements. The Source Protection Committees oversee development and implementation of Source Protection Plans for each Source Protection Region. Committees have representation from municipalities, businesses, and the public. Members of Source Protection Committees are appointed by the Source Protection Authority.

#### Municipal vacancies on Source Protection Committees are appointed by Source Protection Authority, with nomination by representative municipalities

Ontario Regulation 288/07 under the *Clean Water Act, 2006* outlines requirements for appointing members and filling vacancies on the Source Protection Committees. The lead Source Protection Authority, Credit Valley Source Protection Authority, is responsible for appointing new committee members from the list of nominated individuals submitted by local municipal councils.

Through a <u>February 28, 2024 letter</u>, the lead Source Protection Authority requested the seven municipalities located within CTC Source Protection Region nominate a candidate. Although each municipality may nominate a candidate of their choosing, the municipalities have historically and unanimously supported the Region's nominee. Unanimous nomination removes competition for the appointment.

### 4. Analysis

# Tom Bradley has been nominated as York Region's representative for CTC Source Protection Committee

Tom Bradley, Program Manager, Source Water Protection at the Region, has been nominated to represent the joint municipalities at the CTC Source Protection Committee, replacing his predecessor, Scott Lister. Mr. Bradley is a licensed Professional Geoscientist with more than 20 years of experience in groundwater management, has been employed with York Region for 17 years, and meets the eligibility requirements as listed in the February 28, 2024 letter, to be appointed to the Committee. Mr. Bradley has been involved with the Source Water Protection program for more than 10 years and has participated on the CTC Amendments and Implementation working groups. Mr. Bradley is also a member of the Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Parks Dense Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid working group.

#### Tom Bradley's nomination is supported by all members of the municipal group

While Council resolutions are not required, the Source Protection Authority letter requests municipalities confirm agreement to the nominated candidate. Confirmation letters from each representative municipality, Town of Aurora, Township of King, City of Markham, City of Richmond Hill, City of Vaughan, and Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville have been received. These letters will be provided to the CTC Source Protection Authority as part of its Source Protection Committee appointment process.

#### Delegate authority to Commissioner of Public Works to nominate York Region representation on Source Protection Committees to maintain continuity

Staff propose Council delegate the authority to the Commissioner of Public Works to nominate staff representation on Source Protection Committees. This delegation would mirror delegated authority Council approved in <u>May 2023</u> for other duties related to the Risk Management Official and Inspectors, as required under the *Clean Water Act, 2006*.

As member municipalities endorse the nomination, this requested authority would provide an administrative efficiency.

### 5. Financial Considerations

This report does not have a financial component or financial implications.

### 6. Local Impact

## Source Protection Committee representation preserves a municipal role in future Source Protection Plan amendments

Regional representation on the Source Protection Committee will help ensure municipal concerns regarding implementation are reflected when future Source Protection Plan amendments are considered. Risk Management staff will continue to collaborate with local municipal planning and building department colleagues on Source Protection implementation.

### 7. Conclusion

To maintain Regional representation on the CTC Source Protection Committee, it is recommended Council approve the nomination of Tom Bradley for municipal membership and appointment as York Region's voting representative should a vote be called.

Delegation of authority to the Commissioner of Public Works to nominate future Regional representation on Source Protection Committees supports the Region's continued commitment to streamlining administrative processes.

For more information on this report, please contact Wendy Kemp, Director, Infrastructure Asset Management at 1-877-464-9675 ext. 75141. Accessible formats or communication supports are available upon request.

Recommended by:

Mike Rabeau, P.Eng. General Manager, Capital Infrastructure Services

Laura McDowell, P.Eng. Commissioner of Public Works

Approved for Submission:

Erin Mahoney Chief Administrative Officer

August 19, 2024 #16226410