Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Office of the Minister

777 Bay Street, 17th Floor Toronto ON M7A 2J3 Tel.: 416 585-7000

Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement

Bureau du ministre

777, rue Bay, 17e étage Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2J3 Tél. : 416 585-7000



234-2024-5595

December 2, 2024

Christopher Raynor Regional Clerk Regional Municipality of York Christopher.Raynor@york.ca

Dear Christopher Raynor:

With the resignation of Wayne Emmerson as Chair and CEO of York Region, I am writing to advise York Regional Council of my intention to make an order under section 218.3 of the Municipal Act, 2001, to appoint the next Chair of York Region to serve for the duration of the current term of council. As such, it is my intention to appoint Eric Jolliffe to the position of Chair and CEO of York Region.

In addition, I intend to make a regulation under section 218.5 (1) (b) of the Municipal Act, 2001 to provide for modifications to the Municipal Act, 2001 that will facilitate the appointment of Mr. Jolliffe as head of council.

Mr. Jolliffe has decades of experience in executive leadership, strategic management and public safety that has positioned him well to be the next leader of York Region. He was born and raised in York Region and served as the Region's Police Chief for a decade. Over his long career in public service, Jolliffe has won numerous awards, including Officer of the Order of Merit for Police Forces; both the Queen Elizabeth II Gold and Diamond Jubilee Medals; the Order of the City of Vaughan; the Public Service Award from the Transformation Institute for Leadership and Innovation; and a Character Community of York Region Lifetime Achievement Award.

I would also like to thank outgoing Regional Chair Wayne Emmerson for his commitment to the Region and its residents. Emmerson's tremendous work will enable Jolliffe to build an even stronger York Region.

We are committed to working collaboratively with the Region on this matter and will be providing you with further details as we work to finalize the appointment. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Allyson Switzman, Regional Director, Priority Projects Branch at Allyson.Switzman@ontario.ca or 416-319-7909.

Sincerely,

Hon. Paul Calandra

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

c. Erin Mahoney, Chief Administrative Officer, erin.mahoney@york.ca
Jessica Lippert, Chief of Staff, Minister's Office. MMAH
jessica.lippert2@ontario.ca
Martha Granthere Paratte Minister MMAH, martha granthere extensions.

Martha Greenberg, Deputy Minister, MMAH, <u>martha.greenberg@ontario.ca</u> Caspar Hall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Local Government Division, MMAH, <u>caspar.hall2@ontario.ca</u>