

Legislative Services Michael de Rond 905-726-4771 clerks@aurora.ca

Town of Aurora 100 John West Way, Box 1000 Aurora, ON L4G 6J1

July 4, 2019

Delivered by email doug.ford@pc.ola.org

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Premier's Office, Room 281 Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Dear Premier Ford:

Re: Town of Aurora Council Resolution of Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Re: Motion (a) Mayor Mrakas; Re: Response to Regional Governance Review

Please be advised that this matter was considered by Council at its meeting held on Tuesday, June 25, 2019, and in this regard Council adopted the following resolution:

Whereas the Government of Ontario has announced a review of Ontario's eight regional municipalities (Durham, Halton, Muskoka District, Niagara, Oxford County, Peel, Waterloo, York), the County of Simcoe and their lower-tier municipalities by appointed Special Advisors; and

Whereas the provincially appointed Special Advisors are to provide advice and develop recommendations for the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing for the purpose of improving governance, decision-making and service delivery in the eight regions and Simcoe County and their lower-tier municipalities; and

Whereas the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) informed its members last August, that the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing began informal discussions on regional governance review, wishing to hear from municipalities about how this system of governance is working recognizing it was established in the 1970s; and

Whereas the provincially appointed Special Advisors have included within the scope of their review, consideration of moving to single-tier municipalities or amalgamating existing municipalities; and

Re: Town of Aurora Motion (a) Response to Regional Governance Review

July 4, 2019 Page 2 of 3

> Whereas the Town of Aurora welcomes all opportunities to improve both Regional and local municipal service delivery and achieve greater efficiencies and cost savings for all Aurora and York taxpayers and rate payers; and

Whereas York Region's municipal structure provides for Regional services throughout all local York municipalities, resulting in cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of the local municipalities and citizens, such as Children's and Court Services, Housing, Long Term Care, Paramedic and Police Services, Public Health, Social Assistance, Public Transit, Water and Waste Treatment, to name a few; and

Whereas the province requested feedback on the regional review through an online survey or written submission; and

Whereas the Town of Aurora has demonstrated its fiscal responsibility by embracing shared service arrangements like Central York Fire Services and also by reducing its Council size from nine (9) members to seven (7) before the 2018 Municipal Election;

- 1. Now Therefore Be It Hereby Resolved That it is recognized and factual that York Region was formed, effective January 1, 1971, at which time resulted in the consolidation of fourteen (14) former municipalities (previously under 'York County') into nine (9) new municipalities; and
- 2. Be It Further Resolved That the Council of the Town of Aurora endorses the effectiveness of the current two-tier municipal governance structure, with continued exploration and implementation of furthering efficiencies and partnerships, as has existed between York Region and our partner York local municipalities, since its inception in 1971; and
- 3. Be It Further Resolved That the Town of Aurora and its actively engaged citizens value the distinct identity of their community of communities and are committed to being proud hosts and stewards of the Oak Ridges Moraine, Greenbelt, Lake Simcoe and the Holland Marsh; and
- 4. Be It Further Resolved That this motion be forwarded to all municipalities of York Region, the Premier of Ontario, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, all local MPP's and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario.

Re: Town of Aurora Motion (a) Response to Regional Governance Review

July 4, 2019 Page 3 of 3

The above is for your consideration and any attention deemed necessary.

Yours sincerely,

Michael de Rond

Town Clerk

The Corporation of the Town of Aurora

MdR/is

Copy: Hon. Christine Elliott, Deputy Premier

Hon. Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Michael Parsa, MPP, Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill

Association of Municipalities of Ontario

All York Region Municipalities