Accessibility Advisory Committee

Electronic Meeting
  • C. Davies,
  • A. Dennis,
  • L. Gold,
  • D. Hamilton,
  • K. Hill,
  • J. Simmons,
  • V. Spatafora,
  • A. Tocco,
  • and S. Wollin
  • K. Abbas,
  • K. Bacani-Angus,
  • K. Baxter,
  • J. Burgis,
  • K. Catney,
  • V. Choe,
  • C. Clark,
  • L. Davies,
  • J. Dolly,
  • S. Doyle,
  • K. Farahani,
  • C. Goodeve,
  • A. Griepsma,
  • F. Guzzo,
  • K. Heathcote,
  • M. Herder,
  • J. Hordowick,
  • A. Kawun,
  • T. Kirkwood,
  • A. Lauzon,
  • D. MacKay,
  • J. Maclellan,
  • B. Mulholland,
  • N. Murchison,
  • K. Northam,
  • J. Silva,
  • E. Straughan,
  • and R. Sudak

Joann Simmons, Vice Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m. and made the following remarks:

“We acknowledge the land we are meeting on today is the traditional territory of many First Nations, including the Chippewas of Georgina Island and the Mississaugas of the Credit. These lands are now home to many diverse Indigenous peoples.

We also acknowledge that York Region falls under Treaty 13 with the Mississaugas of the Credit and the Williams Treaties with several Mississauga and Chippewas First Nations.”

Committee received the presentation by Erin Straughan, Transportation Policy and Accessible Services Specialist, Doug MacKay, Manager, Engineering, Capital Planning and Delivery and Kyle Catney, Acting Director, Transit Operations, Transportation Services.

Committee received the presentation by Julie Hordowick, Program Manager, Integrated Waste Management Strategy, Environmental Services.


Due to time constraints the update will be circulated to members of the committee following the meeting.

Joann Simmons, Vice Chair, announced the passing of David Hingsburger, a member of this committee since 2019, paying tribute to him, his work on the committee, as well as his extensive advocacy within the community for persons with disabilities. The committee took a moment of silence in honour of David.

The next meeting of this committee is scheduled on November 24, 2021 and will be held virtually.

The meeting adjourned at 6 p.m.