Accessibility Advisory Committee

Electronic Meeting
  • C. Davies,
  • A. Dennis,
  • L. Fortnum,
  • L. Gold,
  • D. Hamilton,
  • K. Hill,
  • D. Hingsburger,
  • B. Martin,
  • S. Palombo,
  • J. Simmons,
  • V. Spatafora,
  • A. Tocco,
  • T. Vegh,
  • and S. Wollin
  • K. Abbas,
  • S. Ayres,
  • K. Bacani-Angus,
  • J. Burgis,
  • A.M. Carroll,
  • K. Chislett,
  • V. Choe,
  • C. Clark,
  • L. Davies,
  • J. Dolly,
  • S. Doyle,
  • K. Farahani,
  • C. Goodeve,
  • R. Griffin,
  • M. Herder,
  • T. Kirkwood,
  • J. Lai,
  • A. Lauzon,
  • S. Maio,
  • K. Richards,
  • A. Shamji,
  • J. Silva,
  • E. Straughan,
  • and L. Uncao

Regional Councillor Vegh called the meeting to order at 4 p.m. and made the following remarks:

“We acknowledge the land we are meeting on today is the traditional territory of many First Nations, including the Chippewas of Georgina Island and the Mississaugas of the Credit. These lands are now home to many diverse Indigenous peoples.

We also acknowledge that York Region falls under Treaty 13 with the Mississaugas of the Credit and the Williams Treaties with several Mississauga and Chippewas First Nations.”

Committee elected Joann Simmons as Vice Chair of the Accessibility Advisory Committee for 2021.

Committee received the presentation by Kim Bacani-Angus, Health Equity Public Health Nurse, Krista Richards, Health Promoter and Rachel Griffin, Public Health Nurse, Public Health, Community and Healthy Services.


Committee recessed at 5:20 p.m. and reconvened at 5:27 p.m.

Committee received the presentation by Sharon Doyle, Manager, Mobility On-Request and Erin Straughan, Transportation Policy and Accessible Services Specialist, York Region Transit, Transportation Services.


Committee received updates from Lois Davies, Manager, Social Policy and Accessibility, Strategies and Partnerships Branch, Community and Health Services on the following:

York Region Accessibility Advisory Committee Forum Sub-Committee

Ms. Davies advised that staff will send information to committee members about joining the re-established York Region Accessibility Advisory Committee Forum Sub-Committee to plan a virtual event for the 2021 National AccessAbility Week taking place between May 31, 2021 and June 4, 2021.

David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility

Ms. Davies advised that the nomination deadline has been extended to February 26, 2021 for the David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility, which recognizes Ontarians who have gone above and beyond to improve accessibility for people with disabilities.

2020 Accessibility Status Report

Ms. Davies advised that the 2020 Accessibility Status Report is posted online at york.ca/accessibilityplans.

Committee observed a moment of silence to recognize the life and contributions of former York Region Accessibility Advisory Committee member Brian Edward Lynch, who was a member of the Committee for eight years, serving two consecutive terms between 2011 and 2019.

The next virtual meeting of the Committee is scheduled on April 28, 2021.

The Accessibility Advisory Committee meeting adjourned at 5:52 p.m.